2021 Energy Innovations Summit Powerpoints

Welcome – Jeff Hauck, President, Colorado Rural Electric Association

General Session – Coping with Change: A Conversation with Alice Jackson & Duane Highley

Duane Highley, CEO, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association
Alice Jackson, President, Xcel Energy-Colorado
Moderator: Kent Singer, Executive Director, Colorado Rural Electric Association

Breakout Session #1 – Long Duration Energy Storage

Marco Ferrara, Senior Vice President, Business Development & Analytics, Form Energy
Jon Norman, President, Hydrostar Inc.
Salvatore Minopoli, Vice President Operations, Largo Clean Energy
Moderator: Dr. Gary Dorris, President, Ascend Analytics

Breakout Session #2 – Meeting Customer Needs

Christopher Gorog, CEO BlockFrame Inc.
Dylan Cutler, Product Manager, Camus Energy
Sonja Cox, President & CEO, Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative, Inc

Breakout Session #3 – Is Hydrogen the Answer?

Keith Hay, Director of Utility Policy, Colorado Energy Office
Dr. Bryan Wilson, Executive Director, CSU Energy Institute
Wiley Rhodes, Co-Founder, Escalante H2 Power, CEO Newpoint Gas LLC
Moderator: Brian DeBruine, Director, Colorado Hydrogen Network

Breakout Session #4 – Carbon Capture Usage & Storage

Jeff Baudier, CEO, CORE Electric Cooperative
Shannon Mikula, Special Projects Counsel and Geologic Storage Lead, Minnkota Power Cooperative
David Greeson, President, Proven Project Development Group
Moderator: Jim Spiers, SVP, Business Technologies and Strategies, NRECA

Lunch with Tim Reeser, CEO of Lightning eMotors

Breakout Session #5 – Impacts of the February Deep Freeze

Darren Schauer, General Manager, Guadalupe Valley Electric Cooperative
Bruce Rew, Senior Vice President of Operations, Southwest Power Pool
Moderator: Tom Walch, CEO, Grand Valley Power

Breakout Session #6 – Integrating Distributed Energy Resources

Astrid Atkinson, CEO, Camus Energy Inc.Seth Frader-Thompson, CEO, EnergyHub
Seth Frader-Thompson, CEO,Energy Hub
Dr. Marissa Hummon, Chief Technology Officer, Utilidata
Moderator: Dr. Bryan Hannegan, CEO, Holy Cross Energy

Breakout Session #7 – Beneficial Electrification

Reg Rudolph, General Manager, San Isabel Electric
Matt Fitzgibbon, Beneficial Electrification Manager, Tri-State Generation and Transmission

Breakout Session #8 – Canary in the Coal Mine

Dr. Anna Scott, Chief Science Officer, Project Canary
Moderator: Barry Ingold, Senior Vice President, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association

To view presentations from the 2020 Virtual Energy Innovations Summit, click here.

Welcome – Jim Lueck, President, Colorado Rural Electric Association

Opening General Session – Charting Colorado’s Energy Future

Duane Highley, CEO, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association
Gov. Bill Ritter, Jr., Founder & Director, Center for the New Energy Economy
Moderator: Kent Singer, Executive Director, Colorado Rural Electric Association

Breakout Session #1 – Micro Grids

Olugbenga Ajala, PE, Research Engineer, Southern Company Services, Inc.
Andre Gouin, Business Technology Consultant, Xcel Energy
Josh Winslow, CEO, Brunswick EMC
Moderator: Dr. Bryan Hannegan, CEO, Holy Cross Energy

Breakout Session #2 – Community Choice Aggregation

Chuck Keiper, Executive Director, Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council
Dawn Weisz, Chief Executive Officer, MCE Clean Energy
Glen Weinberg, Vice President, Joule Assets Inc.
Moderator: Jenny Heeter, Senior Energy Analyst, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Breakout Session #3 – New Technologies

Jennifer Beach, Chief Operations Officer, Starfire Energy
Wesley Fuller, Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, Sunfolding
Scott Simmons, Manager of Engineering/Assistant General Manager, Mountain Parks Electric
Moderator: Shelly Curtiss, Executive Director, Colorado Cleantech Industries Association

Breakout Session #4 – Beneficial Electrification

Kim Burke, Senior Program Manager, Colorado Energy Office
Bruce Nilles, Managing Director, Rocky Mountain Institute
Matthew Shmigelsky, Energy Consultant and Transportation Director, Clean Energy Economy for the Region
Moderator: Keith Dennis, Senior Director, Strategic Initiatives, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Energy Storage Update

Curtis Ashton, American Power Systems and Chair, IEEE Energy Storage and Stationary Battery Committee
Alex Eller, Senior Research Analyst, Navigant Research
Benjamin L. Schenkman, Senior Member Technical Staff, Sandia National Laboratories
Moderator: Mike Kruger, President & Chief Executive Officer, Colorado Solar and Storage Association

Regional Markets Update

Joel Bladow, Sr. Vice President, Transmission, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association
Scott Miller, Executive Director, Western Power Trading Forum
Donald Tretheway, Sr. Advisor, Market Design & Regulatory Policy, California ISO
Moderator: Thomas Dougherty, Partner, Lewis Rocca Rothgerber Christie